The EDIC is the town's designated development agency and was established to promote Wethersfield as an attractive location for new business, to retain and expand our valued existing businesses and to increase the tax base and employment opportunities in Wethersfield. The commission seeks to coordinate the activities of all organizations interested in promoting economic development in the town. The commission works closely with the Town Council, the Wethersfield Chamber of Commerce, the Tourism Commission, the Planning and Zoning Commission and the Redevelopment Agency.

The commission has created several subcommittees in an effort to implement the recommendations of the town's Economic Development Strategic Plan: Marketing/Communication and Finance. Several initiatives have been created by the EDIC including: a Tax Incentive Program, the Façade Improvement Program, a Business Visitation Program, the annual Salute to Business event, the Farmers Market and the Shops Local program.

The commission works through the staff from the Planning and Economic Development Department to promote the community and reports each month to the Town Council through a Monthly Economic Development report. The commission also works to market development opportunities throughout the town via the distribution of a quarterly report listing available properties in town.


The Commission consists of representatives from the business community, the Chamber of Commerce, the community at large and the various town boards and commissions. The EDIC consists of eleven members and four alternates appointed by the Town Manager:
  • Mark Trahan — Chair
  • Gioia Zack — Vice Chair
  • Dorcas McHugh
  • John Adamian
  • Dan Silver
  • Judy Keane
  • Mirella D'Antonio
  • Peter O'Keefe
  • Marco Pace
  • Ken Lesser

The Commission also has three ex officio nonvoting members:

  • Jeff Bridges — Town Manager
  • Dan Silver — Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Anthony Spinella — Town Council

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are typically held on the second Thursday of each month at 12 noon in the Town Manager's Conference Room at Town Hall, 505 Silas Deane Highway. The commission's meeting minutes are available online. For further information contact Peter D. Gillespie, Director of Planning and Economic Development at (860) 721-2838.